Text size A A


Dr. Barry Byrne

  • Physician-scientist, cardiologist and molecular virologist, University of Florida.
  • Prior James Scholar, University of Illinois.
  • Prior Pediatrics and cardiology, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Terence Flotte

  • Dean of the School of Medicine, provost & executive deputy chancellor, University of Massachusetts Medical School.
  • Prior Nemours Eminent Scholar, Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Louisiana State University Medical Center.
  • Prior Pediatrics School of Medicine Fellowship, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. William Hauswirth

  • Molecular Genetics and Ophthalmology, University of Florida.
  • Prior, NIH Fellowship, Biochemistry, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Nicholas Muzyczka

  • Founding Director, University of Florida Powell Gene Therapy Center
  • Prior CEO and Chairman of the Board of AGTC
  • First patent involving non-AAV genes inserted into AAV, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. R. Jude Samulski

  • Director, University of North Carolina Gene Therapy Center.
  • Prior member, Recombinant DNA Advisory Committee (RAC), Food and Drug Administration.
  • Ophthalmology Scientific Advisory Board


Ophthalmology Scientific Advisory Board

David G. Birch, Ph.D.

  • Chief Scientific and Executive Officer and Director of the Rose-Silverthorne Retinal Degenerations Laboratory, Retina Foundation of the Southwest
  • Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
  • Director of Electrophysiology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
  • Center Coordinator, Foundation Fighting Blindness Southwest Regional Center

J. Timothy Stout, MD, Ph.D.

  • Director of the Cullen Eye Institute, Baylor University College of Medicine
  • Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology, Baylor University College of Medicine
  • Chairman of the Ophthalmology SAB, AGTC

Peter A. Campochiaro, M.D.

  • Eccles Professor of Ophthalmology and Neuroscience, Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Karl G. Csaky, M.D., Ph.D.

  • T. Boone Pickens Senior Scientist and Director of the Harrington Molecular Ophthalmology Laboratory, Retina Foundation of the Southwest
  • Partner, Texas Retina Associates

Stephen P. Daiger, Ph.D.

  • TS Matney Professor of Environmental and Genetic Sciences, School of Public Health, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
  • Director, Laboratory for Molecular Diagnosis of Inherited Eye Diseases
  • Vice Chair, Scientific Advisory Board and Chair, Genetics Committee, Foundation Fighting Blindness

Gregory S. Hageman, Ph.D.

  • John A. Moran Presidential Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, University of Utah
  • Executive Director, Moran Eye Center for Translational Medicine, University of Utah

William W. Hauswirth, Ph.D.

  • Rybaczki-Bullard Professor of Ophthalmology and Molecular Genetics, University of Florida College of Medicine

Paul Kaufman, M.D.

  • Professor and Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Past President, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology
  • Past President, International Society for Eye Research
  • Editor, Adler’s Physiology of the Eye

Robert S. Molday, Ph.D.

  • Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences.
  • Director, Centre for Macular Research\
  • Canada Research Chair in Vision and Macular Degeneration, Fellow Royal Society of Canada

David A. Saperstein, M.D.

  • Vitreoretinal Surgeon and Director of Research, Vitreoretinal Associates of Washington
  • Scientific Director, Usher III Initiative
  • Co-founder and Medical Director, Retinagenix

Richard G. Weleber, M.D.

  • Professor of Ophthalmology and Molecular & Medical Genetics, Oregon Health and Sciences University
  • Director, Oregon Retinal Degeneration Center, Oregon Health and Sciences University
  • Director, Visual Diagnostic Function Service, Oregon Health and Sciences University


Otology Scientific Advisory Board

Oliver F. Adunka, M.D.

  • Professor and Director, Otology, Neurotology, and Cranial Base Surgery, The Ohio State University.
  • Director, Pediatric Otology at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.
  • Prior Associate Professor, University of North Carolina.

Karen B. Avraham, Ph.D

  • Professor, Human Genetics, Tel Aviv University.
  • Vice Dean, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University.
  • Council Member, European Molecular Biology Organization.

Wade W. Chien, M.D.

  • Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
  • Staff Clinician, National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders

Samuel P. Gubbels, M.D.

  • Associate Professor, Otolaryngology, University of Colorado School of Medicine
  • Director, University of Colorado Health Hearing and Balance Center
  • Prior Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology University of Arizona

Jeffrey R. Holt, Ph.D.

  • Professor of Otolaryngology, Harvard Medical School
  • Professor of Otology and Neurology, Boston Children’s Hospital
  • Director of Research, Otolaryngology, Boston Children's Hospital

Yehoash Raphael, Ph.D.

  • Professor, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery, Kresge Hearing Research Institute, The University of Michigan
Visionary science for life changing cures.